2010 Muscle Machine of the Year Winner!

Dennis DeCamp’s 1970 Ford Mustang has been named Goodguys 2010 Detroit Speed Muscle Machine of the Year. The red Mustang with superior fit and finish was spotted sliding around several autocrosses this year and was selected as a finalist at the Orange County Get-Together back in May. It’s the second Terrific 12 award for DeCamp in three years. In 2007, his Ferrari-influenced 1932 Ford took home the Classic Instruments Street Rod of the Year title in Columbus.

Built by Barry’s Speed Shop (who also built the ’32 roadster), DeCamp’s potent pony looks as good as it runs. The car is covered in deep layers of House of Kolor Blue Blood Red with metallic gold skunk stripes. The sport suspension combines a front end from Global West, a TCI Trilink and QA1 shocks. A 13-inch big brake kit from Baer stops the 18 & 19 inch Schott wheels on a dime. Brown Italian leather by Gabe’s covers the 2007 Mustang bucket seats. Under the flawless hood lies a completely polished 548-horsepower Roush 427.

Aside from all the car’s impressive bells and whistles, it’s a true driver. Dennis took off from his home in West Covina and drove the car to the Goodguys Pacific Northwest Nationals in Puyallup, Washington and when he heard he had won the Detroit Speed Muscle Machine of the Year award he said he’d be driving it over to Scottsdale for the season-ender. This car is all show and all go!

Like the other winners, DeCamp will receive a customized toolbox courtesy of Snap-on as well as his Detroit Speed Muscle Machine of the Year award while in Scottsdale at the season-ending 13th Southwest Nationals, November 19-21 at Westworld.

Fellow award finalists included Jack Hodson, Glendale, AZ (’67 Camaro), Matt Alcala, San Diego, CA (’69 Camaro), Mark Turner, Hermitage, TN (’69 Camaro), Mark Allen, Mesa, AZ (’67 Camaro), Doug Renner, Orange County, CA (‘69 Camaro), Roger Burman, Rockwell City, IA (’71 Plymouth ‘Cuda), Randy Johnson, Kewaskim, WI (’70 Camaro), Bob Bertelsen, Columbiana, OH (’72 Firebird), Mark Dinkel, Hays, KS (’70 Nova) and Terry Neuville, Prairieville, LA (’68 Camaro).

Congratulations to Dennis and all finalists!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: